Biospectroscopy

In the Biospectroscopy Research Department, we set ourselves the goal of improving early detection of diseases, especially of the cardiovascular system and for tumors. Our aim is to improve the assessment of individual risks in existing diagnoses with the help of modern imaging techniques. Starting from experimental model systems, we first investigate the complex biochemical and cellular basis of diseases in different phases of their development and then transfer the results to the human body.
State-of-the-art imaging techniques play an important role in this procedure. We use different methods of mesoscopic and high-resolution 3-D microscopy to visualize cellular and biophysical processes in intact tissue and whole organs. These results are combined with innovative analytical methods developed at ISAS in order to make all relevant biomolecule classes measurable without markers.

The result is a comprehensive description of the state of complex biological systems under physiological and pathological conditions.
With such a combination of modern imaging and molecular analysis, we are able to capture all orders of magnitude from molecules to supracellular structures required for spatially and temporally resolved analysis. The findings on biological systems gained from this holistic approach will then help to develop new tailor-made prevention and therapy measures.

The department was established in August 2019 and is currently being built.

 

Current Publications

Molecular pathophysiology of human MICU1-deficiency

Neuropathology and applied neurobiology, Vol. 47, Nr. 6, , P. 840–855
Type: Journal article

Targeting early stages of cardiotoxicity from anti-PD1 immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy

European heart journal, Vol. ehab430,
Type: Journal article

Platelet endothelial cell adhesion molecule-1 is a gatekeeper of neutrophil transendothelial migration in ischemic stroke

Brain behavior and immunity, Vol. 93, , P. 277–287
Type: Journal article

Advances in the In Vivo Molecular Imaging of Invasive Aspergillosis

Journal of fungi, Vol. 6, Nr. 4, , P. 1–15
Type: Journal article

Co-option of Neutrophil Fates by Tissue Environments

Cell, Vol. 183, Nr. 5, , P. 1282–1297.e18
Type: Journal article

Homozygous Smpd1 deficiency aggravates brain ischemia/ reperfusion injury by mechanisms involving polymorphonuclear neutrophils, whereas heterozygous Smpd1 deficiency protects against mild focal cerebral ischemia

Basic Research in Cardiology, Vol. 115, Nr. 6, , P. 64
Type: Journal article

Biospektroskopie

In der Forschungsabteilung Biospektroskopie setzen wir uns das Ziel, bei Erkrankungen, insbesondere des Herz-/Kreislaufsystems sowie bei Tumoren, die Früherkennung zu verbessern und die Beurteilung individueller Risiken bei bestehender Diagnose mit Hilfe moderner bildgebender Verfahren weiterzuentwickeln. Ausgehend von experimentellen Modellsystemen untersuchen wir zunächst die komplexen biochemischen und zellulären Grundlagen der Krankheiten in unterschiedlichen Phasen ihrer Entwicklung und übertragen die Ergebnisse dann auf den menschlichen Körper.

Bei diesem Vorgehen spielen modernste Verfahren der Bildgebung eine wesentliche Rolle. So wenden wir unterschiedliche Methoden der mesoskopischen und hochaufgelösten 3-D Mikroskopie an, um zelluläre und biophysikalische Prozesse in intaktem Gewebe und ganzen Organen zu visualisieren. Diese Ergebnisse werden mit innovativen Analyseverfahren kombiniert, die am ISAS entwickelt werden, um markerfrei alle relevanten Biomolekülklassen messbar zu machen. So entstehen schließlich umfassende Zustandsbeschreibungen komplexer biologischer Systeme unter physiologischen und pathologischen Bedingungen.

Mit einer derartigen Kombination von moderner Bildgebung und Molekularanalyse können wir alle für eine räumlich und zeitlich aufgelöste Analytik erforderlichen Größenordnungen von Molekülen bis hin zu suprazellulären Strukturen erfassen. Aus dieser ganzheitlichen Betrachtung gewonnene Erkenntnisse über biologische Systeme sollen dann helfen, neue maßgeschneiderte Präventions- und Therapiemaßnahmen zu entwickeln.

Die Abteilung wurde im August 2019 etabliert und wird derzeit aufgebaut.